March 14th is a day to celebrate butterflies. Some basic information about them is they are of the order Lepidoptera, which includes the insects: butterflies, skippers, and moths. All three of these types have six legs, two antennae, and four wings. They are insects with scales over their bodies and wings. They all have four stages of life. First is the egg stage, second is the larvae or caterpillar stage, third is pupa, and fourth is the adult stage. Butterflies are pollinators, which helps multiple plants thrive. Here is a Red Admiral on a dianthus plant from my garden last summer.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s