Saturday, March 14 is Learn About Butterflies Day. As I am sure you are aware, I really enjoy butterflies and post quite a bit about them. To celebrate Learn About Butterflies day, here are some basics. Lepidoptera is an order of insects that include butterflies, moths, and skippers. All three of these types have six legs, two antennae, and four wings. They are insects with scales over their bodies and wings. They all have four stages of life. First is the egg stage, second is the larvae or caterpillar stage, third is pupa, and fourth is the adult stage. Here are some photos I published in previous posts.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s