The Sun is considered a star, it is the center of our Solar System. Eight planets and the now considerd a dwarf planet, Pluto, revolve around the Sun. There are 156 known moons in the Solar System, moons revolve around their own planets. The Sun is around 4.6 billions years old and it has a diameter of about 864,949 miles. The core temperature of the sun is an estimated 27 million degrees fahrenheit (15 million degrees celecius) and the surface temperature is about 9,941 degrees fahrenheit (5505 degrees celcius). It is believed to contain 98% of the Solar System’s entire mass. Because the Sun is so large and heavy, it exerts a strong gravitational pull on every object within the Solar System. Each planet has a different revolution rate around the Sun, depending on size and mass. The Earth takes 365 days to revolve around the Sun, it is the third closest planet. Mercury, the closest planet, takes only 88 days, Venus takes about 225 days, Mars 730 days, Jupiter 4332 days, Saturn 29.45 years, Uranus 84.3 years, Neptune about 165 years, and Pluto takes 248 years. Keep in mind the sun is always present, the moon has no light of its own, but shines by sunlight reflecting from its surface.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s